Home / Categories / Computers & Internet / Internet / How to Delete a Twitter Account

How to Delete a Twitter Account

Introduction

Twitter is one of the most popular social networking sites where you can share your thoughts, ideas, links and more. Twitter account is easy to create and it is also easy to delete. If you want to remove your digital fingerprint from twitter, there is nothing easier. There is a plenty of social networking sites, each one of them has its own unique interface and removing account can be confusing, but we can help you with that. Here are step-by-step instructions on how to remove your Twitter account.

Do's

1

Log in & change email (optional)

Obviously, you canít remove your account if you are logged out. Log in by entering your username and password. Now if you are willing to remove your account forever and never use Twitter again, than go ahead and skip to the next step. But if you want to create a new account, then you have to have another email address, since your current one is associated with the account you are about to remove. It is better to create another email address for the account you want to remove: register at Yahoo or Hotmail for free and change it in Twitter settings so you can spare your actual email. Press on the nut screw icon and go to settings. Enter your new password in the password field, scroll down and click Save Changes.

2

Removing your account

Press on the nut screw icon, choose Settings from the drop-down list. When in the Settings section, scroll down and press on Deactivate my account. You will see a new window asking you whether or not you really want to remove your account ďIs this goodbye? Are you sure you don't want to reconsider? Was it something we said?Ē (Twitter account deactivation page) If you are sure this is what you want to do, Press Deactivate, you will have to enter your Twitter password one last time before the account is removed. Your information may be visible for another few days before it is completely gone.

3

Reactivating your account

You can restore your account within 30 days, if you donít, your account, all your information will be gone forever. To reactivate your account, simply go to twitter and log in with your old username and password.

Don'ts

Donít remove your account if you simple want to change your username or Twitter URL. To do that, click on nut screw icon, choose Settings from the list that appears. Change your name, scroll down and click Save changes. After that click on your username or Me button, you will see that your old username page is not found. Enter your new username in the field and you will be brought to your new URL with your new username.

Video

Conclusion

Removing Twitter account takes about thirty seconds (nut screw icon - settings - deactivate my account), and you can reactivate it within a month. Before you remove your account, make sure you donít need an email it is associated with to create a new Twitter account.

Related Articles

Rate Article:  
  Rating: 0

About Authors

gonzales
Articles: 150
Edited articles: 50
Article is not edited yet!
Articles total: 2878
Authors total: 33

Share the article!